Exploring the 12 Diverse Areas of Kali: A Journey Through a Rich Martial Arts Tradition

Kali is a martial art rich in tradition and technique and offers a comprehensive training system that encompasses a wide array of weapons and ranges.
This Filipino martial art is not just about physical prowess; it’s a lifelong journey of learning and mastering various skills. Here we delve into the 12 areas of Kali, each highlighting a unique aspect of this dynamic Martial Art and lifestyle.
  1. Area 1 – Single Weapon Mastery:
    • Focuses on proficiency in single weapons like sticks,
      • swords,
      • axes, and
      • canes.
    • Emphasizes skill development in handling individual weapons with precision.
  2. Area 2 – Mastery of Double Weapons:
    • Trains in the use of dual weapons, be it sticks,
      • swords,
      • axes,
      • or a combination.
    • Enhances ambidexterity and coordination.
  3. Area 3 – Mixed Length Combat:
    • Involves the combination of long and short weapons, such as
      • Stick and Dagger,
      • Cane and Dagger,
      • Sword and Dagger,
      • Stick and Shield,
      • Sword and Shield,
      • Long and short Stick.
    • Teaches adaptability in using weapons of varying lengths together.
  4. Area 4 – Double Short Weapon Techniques:
    • Focuses on using two short weapons like:
      • knives,
      • short sticks, or
      • mixed.
    • This area develops close combat skills.
  5. Area 5 – Single Short Weapon Skills:
    • Concentrates on the use of a single short weapon, like a knife or a short stick.
    • Enhances precision and control in close-range combat.
  6. Area 6 – Special Short Weapons:
    • Introduces unique short weapons like the Palm Stick [Olisi Palad], or Double End Dagger.
    • Trains in specialized weaponry for improvised and unusual combat scenarios.
  7. Area 7 – Unarmed Combat Techniques, known as “Pangamut,” “Kamot-Kamot” or “Empty Hands.”
    • Encapsulates empty-hand techniques including the following:
      Panantukan [Boxing including Elbows],
      Panadaikan/Sikaran [Kicking including knees and shin],
      Dumog Layug or Buno [Grappling and Locking],
      Ankab-Pagkusi [Bite and Pinch],
      Higot-Hubud-Lubud [Tying and untying, trapping, and sensitivity].
    • Teaches self-defense without reliance on external weapons.
  8. Area 8 – Long Weapon Proficiency:
    • Involves training with long weapons like:
      • Staff [Sibat],
      • Oar [Dula],
      • Paddle [Bugsay],
      • Spear [Bangkaw],
      • Spear and circular shield,
      • Spear and rectangular shield,
      • Spear and Sword/Stick,
      • Spear and Daggar,
      • Two-handed Method Heavy Stick [Olisi Dalawang Kamot],
      • Two-handed Method [Regular Stick].
    • Develops skills in handling and maneuvering longer range weapons.
  9. Area 9 – Flexible Weapons Usage:
    • Utilizes unconventional, flexible weapons like:
      • Sarong [clothing worn in southern Philippines and Indoneasia],
      • Belt or Sash,
      • Whip [Latigo],
      • Rope [Lubid],
      • Chain [Cadena],
      • Scarf,
      • Handkeirchief,
      • Purse with a strap,
      • Headband,
      • Flail [nunchucka – Olisi Toyok],
      • Tobak Toyok,
      • Yo-Yo,
      • Stingray Tail,
      • Towel,
      • and even a garbage bag!
    • Encourages creativity and adaptability in weapon usage.
  10. Area 10 – Hand-thrown Weapon [Tapon-Tapon] Techniques:
    • Focuses on the art of throwing weapons like:
      • Spear, Dagger,
      • Wooden Splinter,
      • Dart,
      • Spikes,
      • Coins/Washers, Sand/Dirt/Mud,
      • Pepper/Powder,
      • Rocks,
      • etc.
    • Improves accuracy and strategic thinking in weapon deployment.
  11. Area 11 – Projectile Weapons:
    • Involves training with projectile weapons like:
      • Bow and Arrow [Pana],
      • Blowgun [Sumpit],
      • Slingshot [Pana Palad], P
      • ortable cannon [Lantanka],
      • and Firearms were eventually included!
    • Enhances long-range targeting skills.
  12. Area 12 – Inward Training:
    • Encompasses the mental,
      • Emotional,
      • Spiritual,
      • Healing arts,
      • Health Skills,
      • Rythem and Dance,
      • History,
      • Culture,
      • Music,
      • Philosophy and
      • Ethics.
    • Promotes a holistic approach to martial arts, integrating physical skills with mental and spiritual growth.
The 12 areas of Kali offer a vast and comprehensive training system, providing practitioners with a diverse set of skills and knowledge. This martial art is more than just physical combat; it’s a way of life that encompasses mental, emotional, and spiritual development. Kali not only equips individuals with self-defense mechanisms but also with life skills that extend far beyond the realm of martial arts.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *